Shoe Shopping

I finally decided to break down and opt in for some trail shoes. I went to a local shop which I knew carried, at least, the Hoka One One Challenger ATR 2. I went specifically to try on the Challenger hoping to add another pair of Hoka to my collection. I will say, I did like the feel of the Challenger. It was a snug fit, and you could tell this shoe wouldn’t let your feet down.

However, while walking around, I did notice a bit of a rub on my inner arch. The same rub that prompted me to buy a pair of insoles to prevent a rash of blisters on my foot. I didn’t really want to do that again. So I decided to try on some other shoes.

My first instinct was to try the Saucony Peregrine. However, the first shoe I saw was the Saucony Xodus 7.0. It looked like a beast. The guy I was working with said that the Xodus was The Terminator of trail shoes. So instantly I was intrigued. I ended up trying on the older (and therefore cheaper) model in the 6.0. Fit was great and firm. Plus, I was able to snare the Gore-Tex version, giving me some nice waterproofing as well.

Honestly, the shoe is probably overkill for what I’ll use it for. But oh well. I’m excited to take these bad boys out for Trail Thursday tonight.

Run: For the first time I tackled speed work on the treadmill. And you know what? It was great. I was able to control and maintain the pace I wanted to do. While 6x400s are never easy, it amazed me how much easier it is to run at a controlled and brisk pace. I may continue to do some of these on the treadmill moving forward.

Leave a Reply

