Race Season

It has been a while, and for that I apologize. But work has been nuts, and my running has probably slacked off (mileage wise) a bit as well. Still, going mostly strong, even though I’m slipping a bit on the quest for 2,016 miles in 2016.

Anyway, I want to talk about Race Season. For most runners, myself included, peak race season is in the fall. We all find an A race to aim for whatever goals we have. For me, I finally decided to opt in for the Twin Cities Marathon. This will represent the closest marathon I will run to home, cutting out hours of travel and stress in getting to the race. I’ll follow that up with that is sure to be a painful race the following weekend at Mount Desert Island. I’ll wrap up the fall by returning to the Milwaukee Running Festival and run that simply with the goal of finishing after my DNF last year.

However, the end of June and early July has brought me a mini-race season as well. I know the middle of summer is weird time, but oh well. After the Rock N’ Sole and Exile runs took place in back-to-back weekends, I’ll again be going back to back the next two weekends.

Tomorrow I’ll hit my third, and likely final, trail run of 2016 at the Afton 25k. This will be the first time I race over 13.1 miles, but not hit the 26.2 mark. The race also doubles as the USATF Minnesota State Championships, so I wouldn’t mind making a good showing there.

Next weekend is one I have been looking forward to for quite some time. It will be my own personal triple crown. I’ll be hitting the River Falls Days 10k in the morning, and follow that up with the Midnight Madness 5k and 10k at night. As always, I’ll be running those three races to the best of my ability, but I’m certainly targeting the RF Days 10k as my main race. It’ll be fun.

Run: Obviously

Leave a Reply

