“It’ll Get Way Tougher, Don’t Worry”

Those were the words of my coach literally the second day of my training cycle for the Milwaukee Marathon.

As some of you know, I’m in the hunt for the sub 3 hour marathon, and along with that a BQ time. I’ve always felt that I was close to hitting at least the BQ, especially with a strong marathon at Twin Cities last October.

I’m not going to lie, though, I’m looking forward to seeing how challenging this training cycle will be. I know it will include lots of workouts and other things I haven’t previously included in my training plans. Ultimately, I already feel like this will be the most in shape I’ll be going into a Marathon.

The only hurdle, if you will, that I’m a little concerned about is that I’m running a bucket-list race smack dab in the middle of my training cycle. I’ve run long trail races as training runs before, but Pikes Peak will be a totally different animal. But I’ll have more of that on another post.

For now, I’ll just look forward to what Skelly has planned for me in this training cycle. It’s exciting and daunting all at the same time, and I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

