#MidwestProblems

I’m Wisconsin born and raised, currently living in Iowa, and interviewing for jobs in Minnesota. I also went to college in the Twin Cities metro (just on the Wisconsin side). Basically, I’m a Midwest guy for life.

As those of you in the Midwest know, running here is an adventure and a half. In the summer, we’re bombarded with warm temps, and suffocating humidity. Plus, in Wisconsin and Minnesota, the mosquitoes will probably just carry you away.

And then there’s winter. I’ve run in air temperatures as low as -14 in the past year, and who knows how cold the wind makes it. Plus your casual blizzards in March, and this year (in Iowa) we had a significant amount of ice as well. I legitimately may own more cold weather gear than warm weather gear.

But the reason for this post is the warmth we’re experiencing in central Iowa. Yesterday, I woke up at 4:30 for a track workout, hoping to avoid the heat, only to wake up to 85 and humid weather. I mean, I guess it wasn’t in the 90s?

We’re in the midst of a very warm summer. Looking at the forecast, today is the coolest day…with a high of 85. Throw in the humidity, and it’s rough out there.

Around this time of year, we see a lot of posts about the benefits of running in warm weather, especially if training for a fall marathon. And I totally agree with all of them. Even when the temperature drops to the 60s, it is noticeable on a run. For a fall marathon that may drop into the 30s? Yes please.

I read an article once saying that training in high humidity was comparable to altitude. I don’t know about that, but I’ll take it.

So if you;re looking at the forecast and dreading the heat and humidity, just remember it will all pay off in your fall race.

Leave a Reply

