Let’s Talk Gear

Yes, yes I know. I already have a gear page on my blog. It’s not the most up to date, but if it was, it would be a vast page.

So let’s talk about the important stuff. What do I run with? The smartass answer to that question would be: shoes.

But we’ll start down there, if you will, with socks. Every runner knows the importance of a good pair of socks, and a lot of us are loyal to a fault when it comes to a brand. For me, that brand would be the Thorlo Experia socks. They’re light weight, cushioned, and breathe extremely well. Recently they’ve come out with a compression line as well. I’ve got two pairs already and love them. A little lighter than the standard model, but still plenty of cushion.

Moving up from there, we get to the all important Watch. I, like many. Utilize the Garmin Forerunner 235. Gotta have my heart rate and all my other data. I absolutely love it.

Side note, have other Garmin users noticed a quicker satellite pickup with their watch? Mine seems to be going super quick.

Next up, I’m a big sunglasses guy. You’d wear sunglasses if you were going on a 10+ minute drive, so why not when you run? Same difference.

Last year, I invested in a pair of Tifosi wrap around sunglasses. Oh man, these were worth the cost. Super light, comfortable, and don’t fog up. Sometimes I think they make my face look like an insect in race pictures, but that’s a personal problem.

I also have a pair of Bahamas 1 from XX2i as well. I use these mainly as a casual pair, but they can easily double for running as well.

Otherwise, I’ve got a cheap pair from REI and from the Ironman line of gear. These are both fine, but not as good as the Tifosi pair. That extra $50 makes a difference, guys.

And that brings us to the rest of the head.

I love my hate. Never go on a run without one. Normally I’ve used standard running hats (the Shamrock Marathon gave us a finishers hat, one of my favorites). However, even since I picked up a BOCO Trucker’s hat at the La Jolla Half Marathon my life has been changed. I’ve already accumulated a few BOCO truckers hat, and my BibRave one should be arriving in the mail soon.

Sometimes, instead of a hat, I’ll bust out my Buff instead. This is absolutely perfect for moderate (think around 50 degrees) temperature runs. It can double for warming my head, but also just as a sweat catcher.

I do own a buff from the Polar Dash as well. But due to its size, it’s better utilized (for me) as a neck and face warmer once winter descends.

Thats it for my warm weather gear! Once winter arrives, I’ll revisit this post with some winter gear.

What kind of gear do you like to use, or never leave home without?

Leave a Reply

